Skip to main content

Informational Hearing of the Assembly Select Committee on Cybersecurity on State Coordination and Critical Infrastructure Protection

For immediate release:

SUBJECT:  State Coordination and Critical Infrastructure Protection: Local Government and Utilities Critical Infrastructure Control Systems

This hearing will revisit and expand upon the Select Committee’s discussion of “State Coordination and Critical Infrastructure Protection” in 2015, in light of recent high-profile cybersecurity incidents at local governments’ water treatment facilities and a major interstate oil pipeline. Critical infrastructure includes the vast network of both private and public services and buildings necessary to ensure that daily life is possible. This hearing will focus on local government and privately owned utilities that maintain our traditional civic infrastructure; water, gas, and electricity.

The Committee will hear testimony and engage in a dialogue with three panels covering the following topics:  Threats local governments and utilities are currently facing, the standards and activities conducted to keep them secure, and the resources offered to local governments and utilities that provide water, gas, and electricity to Californians.

Panelists include representatives from the Multi-State ISAC, the Electricity-ISAC, Splunk, FireEye, California American Water, Las Virgenes Municipal Water District, Pacific Gas & Electric, San Diego Gas and Electric, Southern California Edison, City of Palo Alto Gas Department, California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services, California Cybersecurity Integration Center, California Department of Technology, California Public Utilities Commission

The hearing will occur upon adjournment of Assembly floor session on Thursday, July 8, 2021, and will be webcast via the California State Assembly website.

Location: State Capitol, Room 4202

                    July 8, 2021 Upon Adjournment of Floor Session


Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin represents California’s 44th Assembly District, which includes the communities of Camarillo, El Rio, Lake Sherwood, Moorpark, Oak Park, Oxnard, Port Hueneme, Thousand Oaks, and Westlake Village.